Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
No Tanks - BC Oil Tanker Ban - Pamela Anderson
12-07-2010, 07:34 PM,
#1
No Tanks - BC Oil Tanker Ban - Pamela Anderson
It's time to demand a full legislative ban on all oil tankers on Canada's west coast.

Today the federal parliament is voting on an NDP motion to demand that the federal government immediately legislate a ban on oil supertankers from plying the hazardous waters off British Columbia’s sensitive northern coast.

This ban needs to be extended to the South Coast of BC as well. Below are links to two videos I produced to help explain and push this issue. You can join the No Tanks coalition at http://www.notanks.org

This first 60 second video Pamela Anderson - Oily beaches? No Tanks! features Pamela Anderson. We both grew up in the same small town on Vancouver Island and learned to swim at the same beach. We didn't know each other as children but we both share the same concern that future generations should have the same opportunities we had as children to enjoy all that nature has to offer on this beautiful coast.



This second 2 minute video No Tanks Vancouver - Oil Tanker ban BC explains in more detail how Vancouver quietly became the west coast tar sands shipping port. It explains how dangerous this shipping route is and the implication of a spill (which is a matter of when not if). Exporting crude oil is not only environmentally hazardous it also exports valuable jobs and undermines Canadian energy security.



This third video Oil in Eden: The Battle to Protect Canada's Pacific Coast is a mini documentary produced by Damien Gilles for Pacific Wild. Damien's excellent blog and other videos can be found at The Common Sense Canadian. This video outlines the case against the Enbridge Gateway pipeline and for a legislated tanker ban on the north coast

http://vimeo.com/15295815

Please contact your MP and tell them you want oil tankers banned on Canada's west coast. This is a fight in my backyard but it all connects to the tar sands, climate change and the environmental degradation of our planet.

As is my usual mode of operation, this is a volunteer effort. If you would like to contribute to this effort please donate at http://www.manlymedia.com My next short videos will be about CETA the Canada European Comprehensive Economic Trade Agreement. Here's a sample video featuring CEP president Dave Coles speaking about CETA in Ottawa.



In Solidarity
Paul Manly
paul@manlymedia.com
http://www.manlymedia.com
250 729-1254

P.S. The NDP and Bloc are expected to vote for the Tanker Ban today we need to make sure the Liberals are on board.
Here's a list of Liberal MP's that you can copy and paste.
To: Michael Ignatieff
Cc: Andrews.S@parl.gc.ca ; Bagnell.L@parl.gc.ca ; Bains.N@parl.gc.ca ; BelanM@parl.gc.ca ; Bennett.C@parl.gc.ca ; Brison.S@parl.gc.ca ; Byrne.G@parl.gc.ca ; Cannis.J@parl.gc.ca ; Coady.S@parl.gc.ca ; Coderre.D@parl.gc.ca ; cotlei@parl.gc.ca ; cotler.i@parl.gc.ca ; Crombie.B@parl.gc.ca ; Cuzner.R@parl.gc.ca ; Damours.J@parl.gc.ca ; Dhaliwal.S@parl.gc.ca ; DhallR@parl.gc.ca ; Stephan Dion ; donolp@parl.gc.ca ; Dosanjh.U@parl.gc.ca ; Dryden.K@parl.gc.ca ; Duncan.K@parl.gc.ca ; Easter.W@parl.gc.ca ; Eyking.M@parl.gc.ca ; Folco.R@parl.gc.ca ; Foote.J@parl.gc.ca ; Fry.H@parl.gc.ca ; Garneau.M@parl.gc.ca ; Goodale.R@parl.gc.ca ; Guarnieri.A@parl.gc.ca ; HallFindlay.M@parl.gc.ca ; Holland.M@parl.gc.ca ; Jennings.M@parl.gc.ca ; Kania.A@parl.gc.ca ; Karygiannis.J@parl.gc.ca ; Kennedy.G@parl.gc.ca ; Leblanc.D@parl.gc.ca ; Lee.D@parl.gc.ca ; lewisr@parl.gc.ca ; MacAulay.L@parl.gc.ca ; Malhi.G@parl.gc.ca ; martik@parl.gc.ca ; Martin.K@parl.gc.ca ; McCallum.J@parl.gc.ca ; McGuinty.D@parl.gc.ca ; McKay.J@parl.gc.ca ; McTeague.D@parl.gc.ca ; Mendes.A@parl.gc.ca ; Milliken.P@parl.gc.ca ; Minna.M@parl.gc.ca ; MinnaM@parl.gc.ca ; MurphB@parl.gc.ca ; Murphy.B@parl.gc.ca ; Murphy.S@parl.gc.ca ; Murray.J@parl.gc.ca ; Neville.A@parl.gc.ca ; Oliphant.R@parl.gc.ca ; Pacetti.M@parl.gc.ca ; Patry.B@parl.gc.ca ; Pearson.G@parl.gc.ca ; Proulx.M@parl.gc.ca ; Rae.B@parl.gc.ca ; Ratansi.Y@parl.gc.ca ; Regan.G@parl.gc.ca ; Rodriguez.P@parl.gc.ca ; Rota.A@parl.gc.ca ; Russell.T@parl.gc.ca ; Savage.M@parl.gc.ca ; Scarpaleggia.F@parl.gc.ca ; Sgro.J@parl.gc.ca ; Silva.M@parl.gc.ca ; Simms.S@parl.gc.ca ; Simson.M@parl.gc.ca ; Szabo.P@parl.gc.ca ; SzaboP@parl.gc.ca ; Tonks.A@parl.gc.ca ; Trudeau.J@parl.gc.ca ; Valeriote.F@parl.gc.ca ; Volpe.J@parl.gc.ca ; VolpeJ@parl.gc.ca ; Wilfert.B@parl.gc.ca ; Wrzesnewskyj.B@parl.gc.ca ; Zarac.L@parl.gc.ca

[Image: randquote.png]
Reply


Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)