05-24-2012, 03:45 PM
Date: 2012.05.24 01:23EDT
Subject: Found some of your other sites on that box....
Date: 2012.05.24 02:09EDT
Subject: Randy Macneil?
Date: 2012.05.24 03:45EDT
Subject: Paypal
Date: 2012.05.24 04:19EDT
Subject: 3Z / torontointernetxchange
Because he sent the last two without a CC to PayPal or 3Z, I have no evidence he actually sent them. I'm guessing he hasn't and predicting he won't. Having said that though, it's obvious he's insane, so anything is possible...
Another point: he makes the false claim that ConCen hosts copyrighted material. He knows that trackers don't do this, so he is lying yet again to try to take us down. Slimier and slimier he gets...
Subject: Found some of your other sites on that box....
Quote:Any of these ring a bell, Mr. Fraudster?
sirquestalot.com?
jionthecrowd.net?
othersdont.com?
thesamecrowd.com?
You're going DOWN, you rotten dirty jerk. You're making the ConCen community pay to host those other websites. That's FRAUD.
Date: 2012.05.24 02:09EDT
Subject: Randy Macneil?
Quote:randymacneil.com on his own IP address, eh? Hmmm....
I told you not to mess with me. You should have made amends when you had the chance.
---Shane
Date: 2012.05.24 03:45EDT
Subject: Paypal
Quote:To whom it may concern,
The website located at http://www.concen.org is running a bittorrent tracker located at http://concen.org/tracker/
This torrent site is chock full of tons and tons of copyrighted files, including audio, video, and even ebooks.
The PayPal TOS/AUP shows:
You may not use the PayPal service for activities that:
violate any law, statute, ordinance or regulation.
relate to transactions involving (a) narcotics, steroids, certain controlled substances or other products that present a risk to consumer
safety, (b) drug paraphernalia, © items that encourage, promote, facilitate or instruct others to engage in illegal activity, (d) stolen goods
including digital and virtual goods (e) items that promote hate, violence, racial intolerance, or the financial exploitation of a crime, (f)
items that are considered obscene, (g) items that infringe or violate any copyright, trademark, right of publicity or privacy or any other
proprietary right under the laws of any jurisdiction, (h) certain sexually oriented materials or services, (i) ammunition, firearms, or certain
firearm parts or accessories, or (j) ,certain weapons or knives regulated under applicable law.
This website is in clear violation of (d) and (g).
The email address that donations are going to is: donate@concen.org
This person, Tom Potts, is using the PayPal service to receive 'donations' in order to pay for the colocation fees for his own personal server,
which are then being paid out to a hosting company named 3Z out of Canada. The hosting fees appear to be in the neighborhood of $150 per month,
and may be going up to $220/month if the users decide they want to move to an unlimited bandwidth package.
He is operating the website in violation of his own ISP's TOS. He has a list of items which are not allowed on the website, due to copyright owners
learning of them being illegally traded at his website, and demanding that they be pulled. In other words, he is operating it as an opt-out, rather than
opt-in, in terms of copyright. He expects copyright holders to notify him if they don't want their material listed, when his own ISP's rules clearly are
that he can't host them without the copyright holders express permission to do so.
If you have any questions or believe that I may help you in any way further about this matter, please do not hessitate to write me back.
---Shane
Date: 2012.05.24 04:19EDT
Subject: 3Z / torontointernetxchange
Quote:To whom it may concern,
Your company is providing colocation service for a customer named Thomas Potts. This customer is operating an illegal torrent sharing website
called 'ConCen' at http://www.concen.org. This website hosts a tracker located at http://concen.org/tracker/ , which is full of copyrighted
materials including audio, video, and ebooks.
Thomas Potts is running the ConCen website as a vehicle to provide funds for his business as a web developer / web hosting provider, under the
name of "FOScore". He is securing funds for the entire colocation fee from the ConCen members, and using that to prop up his web hosting / web
development business.
http://whois.arin.net/rest/customer/C02022505
This Arin data shows that FOScore has been assigned an IP range of 67.213.67.112 - 67.213.67.119, and ConCen is operating on the .114 extension.
Your company's TOS state:
ILLEGAL USE
The 3z Network may be used only for lawful purposes. Transmission, distribution or storage of any material in violation of any applicable law or
regulation is prohibited. This includes, without limitation, material protected by copyright, trademark, trade secret or other intellectual
property right used without proper authorization, and material that is obscene, defamatory, constitutes an illegal threat, or violates export
control laws.
Your company requires that the distribution of copyrighted materials only occur with the 'proper authorization' of the relevant copyright
holders. Mr. Potts, however, is under the misguided impression that he can operate in such a way as to require that the copyright holders
contact him if they want their material removed. In other words, your company has an 'opt-in' policy on distribution of copyrighted works, while
Mr. Potts is running ConCen as an 'opt-out' -- thereby placing the burden on the copyright holders to demand that he cease distribution, provided
they ever learn that such distribution is even taking place.
Mr. Potts said "I'm pretty confident that 3Z will tell him to go fuck himself", rather than lose his business. You can see a screen shot of him
saying so under his forum name "Yeti": http://prntscr.com/9m860 which is part of the thread located at http://concen.org/forum/showthread.php?
tid=45830&page=4
I know nothing about your company, or what gives Mr. Potts that impression, but I am CCing torontointernetxchange.net , so that they will
be made aware as well.
If you have any questions or believe that I may help you in any way further about this matter, please do not hessitate to write me back.
---Shane
Because he sent the last two without a CC to PayPal or 3Z, I have no evidence he actually sent them. I'm guessing he hasn't and predicting he won't. Having said that though, it's obvious he's insane, so anything is possible...
Another point: he makes the false claim that ConCen hosts copyrighted material. He knows that trackers don't do this, so he is lying yet again to try to take us down. Slimier and slimier he gets...